Contre-courant matelotage

STANDARD RIGGINGRUNNING RIGGING

Discover Contre Courant

CONTRE COURANT is a company specialised in studying and manufacturing custom-built running rigging and standing rigging, and also all other types of splicing work.

Established in south Finistère, it operates all over France but also internationally.

Many of the best open sea skippers acknowledge the seriousness and quality of its work to which it owes its well-attested reputation.

Far from wanting to remain exclusively elitist, and eager to share its experience, CONTRE COURANT adapts its knowledge to all types of units (races, cruises, dinghies, classic and traditional rigging…) and all sectors of activity (open sea racing, cruising, merchant navy, industry…).

A Policy of rigorous work privileges quality over quantity, on all braided or 3 stranded textiles.

CONTRE COURANT is a member of the network of independent riggers and a subcontractor of companies, which appeals to its competences for splicing works during periods of over activity (Vendée Globe, route du Rhum…).

The company adapts to each project that is the object of a personalized study before a free detailed quotation.

Meet Laurent Chateignier

Born in 1966, Laurent Chateignier is not a mainstream character. His heterogeneous career, always leading him through maritime and travelling channels, has given him several professional lives.

Not always in phase with school, preferring sailing and deep-sea diving, he joined the National navy, in which he practised his diving speciality, as a boatswain and mastered his first splicings, monkey’s fists and other oddities…

After a training course at the Institut National de Plongée Professionnelle (Professional diving national institute), he began a scuba diving career, which lasted around fifteen years on different submarine or maritime sites.

At the same time, a stroke of chance made him take up archaeological studies, which brought him to numerous excavation sites, on behalf of the Ministry of Culture and more occasionally during “treasure hunts”.

The sea air being stronger, and after having passed the required diplomas (Brevet de Patron Plaisance Voile, Capacitaire, Brevet d’Etat Voile – French equivalents of yacht master), he invested himself fully in sailing life. He then became racing boat preparer by preparing and assisting Bénéteau Figaros and 60 feet boats.

Returning to his first experiences, it was naturally that he specialized in ropes and rigging after having completed his splicing knowledge with Blew Stoub.

In 2005, his independent character and dynamism encouraged him to set up the CONTRE COURANT Company.

ContreCourant-matelotage

GREEMENT COURANTGREEMENT DORMANT

Découvrez Contre Courant

CONTRE COURANT est une entreprise spécialisée dans l’étude et la fabrication sur mesure de gréements courants et de gréements dormants, mais également dans tous autres travaux de matelotage.

Implantée dans le Finistère sud, elle intervient partout en France mais aussi à l’international.

Le sérieux et la qualité de son travail lui valent une notoriété reconnue par nombre des meilleurs skippers du milieu de la course au large.

Loin de vouloir rester exclusivement élitiste, mais désireuse de faire partager son expérience, CONTRE COURANT adapte ses connaissances sur tous types d’unités (course, croisière, voile légère, gréement classique et traditionnel, …) et tous secteurs d’activités (course au large, plaisance, marine marchande, industrie …).

Une politique du travail rigoureux privilégie la qualité à la quantité, sur tous les textiles tressés ou toronnés.

CONTRE COURANT est membre d’un réseau de gréeurs indépendants et sous traitant de sociétés qui font appel à ses compétences pour des travaux de matelotage en période de suractivités (Vendée Globe, Route du Rhum, …).

L’entreprise s’adapte à chaque projet qui fait l’objet d’une étude personnalisée avant un devis gratuit détaillé.

Faites la connaissance de Laurent Chateignier

Né en 1966, Laurent CHATEIGNIER est un personnage à contre courant. Son parcours est hétéroclite, néanmoins toujours sur un fil conducteur au milieu marin et aux voyages, lui ayant offert plusieurs vies professionnelles.

Pas toujours très en phase avec la scolarité, préférant la voile et la plongée sous marine, il s’engage dans la Marine Nationale, où il exercera les spécialités de plongeur, de « Bosco » et maîtrisera ses premières épissures, pommes de touline et autres bizarreries …

Après une formation à l’Institut National de Plongée Professionnelle, il entame une carrière de scaphandrier qui durera une quinzaine d’années sur différents chantiers de travaux sous marins ou maritimes.

Parallèlement, un hasard de la vie lui fait reprendre des études d’archéologie, ce qui l’amènera sur de multiples chantiers de fouilles, pour le compte du Ministère de la Culture et plus occasionnellement lors de « chasse aux trésors ».

L’air du large étant plus fort, et après s’être badgé des diplômes requis (Brevet de Patron Plaisance Voile, Capacitaire, Brevet d’Etat Voile), il s’investit pleinement dans une vie de marin puis en vient au métier de préparateur de bateaux de course en préparant et en assistant des Figaro Bénéteau et des 60 pieds.

Revenant à ses premières expériences, c’est tout naturellement qu’il se spécialise dans la ficelle et le gréement.

EN 2005, son caractère indépendant, son dynamisme l’amènent à créer l’entreprise CONTRE COURANT.